Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Nexys 4 DRR Collision Detection for Labyrinth Game

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sputnik12

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am very new to FPGA programming in vivado (Verilog), and I am trying to make a simple game. The game has a player traverse through a labyrinth and therefore when the player collides with the walls in the labyrinth the player must stop. I tried the brute force method of hard coding every single wall the player collides with and disabled the relevant movements. However, this is not a very time efficient process.

Therefore, I thought it was best to check whether the VGA controller draws over the player box with the colour of the walls. If this happens then disable a certain button. For example, if the red, green and blue values of the walls held in a 12 bit register called "walls" and if the current pixel on the screen is the middle left pixel of the player sprite, then stop moving. This is shown in the following code:

Code:
if((walls) && (currentX == playerX ) && (currentY == playerY + 20)) begin // The player box is 40x40 pixels, //therefore, playerX = 0 and playerY = 0 is the top left hand corner of the player box.

coll_left <= 1'b1;

end

else begin

coll_left <= 1'b0;

end