Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Inverter (not) Sine Wave

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crackle

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I've been looking at an old APC BR500 Uninterruptible Power Supply which I've never used before.

There is a note in the instructions saying that the output is not Sine Wave, so I wanted to have a look at it.

I connected it up to a digital recorder via a voltage divider circuit and a transformer and am attempting to attach the output to this message.

(The digital recorder method of analysing the wave seems to work, as checking the wave from another inverter gives a lovely sine wave output.)

The output from the APC BR500 has each peak and trough spit into two separate distinct peaks & troughs.

My power meter indicates 230 volts but moving on to the mode where it should display Hz makes it go wrong and need reset.

My laptop charger works fine on it.

Is there something wrong with it or is this how it is supposed to work. (If so, is there a name for the wave produced?)

Any thoughts or comments?

Attachments

• UPSwave.png
    UPSwave.png
    11.8 KB · Views: 108

Hi,

I made a quick websearch. According to the product page the warform is a Stepped approximation to a sinewave.

What is the frequency of the signal if you are evaluating the falling zero crossing, assuming this is your time constant?

BR

The wave is ++ followed by -- and if you count each ++ as one then frequency is 50Hz. Let me put that another way - looking at the wave in Audacity, if I select 10 of the double peaks, then I've selected 0.2 seconds.