Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to Identify my Sim Card??

Status
Not open for further replies.

nopodige

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi...
I'm new to EDA Board..... am hoping for favourable response from u guys .....
I have a SIM Card (gold wafer)... written GEMPLUS on it .... how can i identify whether it is a memory card (synchronus) or microcontroller card (asynchronus):?:

Simply said: you have to try it out. That's also what a smart card reader does:
1st the reader applies a high frequency (1 - 5 MHz) to the card's clock pin, resets the card and tries to read the ATR (answer to reset) asynchronously. These are approx. 10 to 28 bytes, always starting with 0x3F or 0x3B.
If this isn't successful the reader tries out diverse synchronous protocols (I2C, 2-wire, 3-wire). An ATR of an synchronous card will be 4 bytes long (but sometimes can also be blank!).
Btw. if there's GEMPLUS written on the card I don't think it's a "Gold Wafer" card (perhaps a card with golden terminal pads). If it's a SIM card, perhaps from your cell phone, it's likely an asynchronous type.

1st the reader applies a high frequency (1 - 5 MHz) to the card's clock pin, resets the card and tries to read the ATR (answer to reset) asynchronously. These are approx. 10 to 28 bytes, always starting with 0x3F or 0x3B.1st the reader applies a high frequency (1 - 5 MHz) to the card's clock pin, resets the card and tries to read the ATR (answer to reset) asynchronously. These are approx. 10 to 28 bytes, always starting with 0x3F or 0x3B

thanks for the response .....