Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DRC and VLS for circuit using Sky130 PDK

rtl1

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I am using Sky130 on Cadence Virtuoso to design my circuit. I have the design and want to run DRC and LVS checks. I prefer to use Calibre, as it is available on my school PC. I have a design rule file sky130_drcRules.pvl. Whenever I try to open calibre, I get similar error:
1712256755709.png

I have never used Calibre/Assura/Magic before. Sorry if this is a stupid question. How do I run the checks?
FYI, I do not any root privileges, nor can I run sudo or install commands.

Thank you,
Ananya

Hi,
I am using Sky130 on Cadence Virtuoso to design my circuit. I have the design and want to run DRC and LVS checks. I prefer to use Calibre, as it is available on my school PC. I have a design rule file sky130_drcRules.pvl. Whenever I try to open calibre, I get similar error:
View attachment 189810

I have never used Calibre/Assura/Magic before. Sorry if this is a stupid question. How do I run the checks?

Thank you,
Ananya
Typically someone would have integrated Calibre with Virtuoso so that in Virtuoso you'd use a menu, probably Calibre > Run nmDRC or Run nmLVS. These bring up the Calibre Interactive GUI so that you can specify the rule file, layout, the checks to run, and so on.