Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Yes, another what language is good for me topic.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jos Brink

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi guys,

sorry i start a new one. the previous didn't satisfy my needs ;)

Ok first a little history,

15 years ago i started programming, first on a C64, next in basic on a PC.
after that, the wonderfull pascal came into my life (with inline asm commands to get to the bios) .
My interest went to uControllers and I learned assembly, C51 asm & AVRasm,
till today I program using C combined with assembly. Even on a windows platform. But.. here it comes. I never programed on a GUI. During my study I did a little of VC++ 6, but i never understanded it realy.. to many libs and you are no longer in control of your program.

But, here it comes.. the main question,.
I realy need to program a nice gui for uploading software for my uControllers. And i need th use of USB, RS232, and ehternet.

What language is these days most common for this kind of applications? i want to get rid of those commandline programs and start writing my own device drivers.
(optional for mutliple platform MAC linux, WIN)

Question 2: can someone explain to me what this C#.NET is?? is this a new age language? (i'm begining to feel old :()

Greeting.. and thanks..

Jos Brink

you may start learning delphi. it works on the basis of pascal. it runs on windows. also delphi's linux version "kylix" is also available. You can find USB, RS232, and ethernet usage examples on torry.net and others...
c# of microsoft is the alternative of java.