Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] why we use simulators

Status
Not open for further replies.

erece

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
28
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,470
my question may be silly .
I want to know why we study orcad or any other simuator software, i mean how powerful are these tools?
I cannot build circuits for my hobby due to cost factor, so is it equivalent to do that on orcad?
 

keremcant

Member level 5
Joined
Dec 25, 2009
Messages
87
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,910
you use simulation tools to get an idea of what will happen when you build the circuit for real. you don't simulate for fun. if you want to build a circuit and want to see if it will work or not, or if you want to see if it will work the way you want it to be, you use a simulation tool to verify. its easier to simulate first an hdl code before you send it to the manifacturer and have all the chips manifactured and see that they don't work. so you simulate first to fix the errors and get a working design manifactured.

the power of the tool depends on the level of the modeling or the tool you use, for example a level1 spice model of a bjt gives you a very unrealistic result, but a higher level can give you a better approximation to the reality. but an hdl simulation tool gives you a pretty good approximation for example.

so it depends on what you are simulating and on which tool you are simulating.
 

LvW

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
5,817
Helped
1,738
Reputation
3,478
Reaction score
1,337
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
39,028
More than that, simulators are an excellent tool to support the education of students.
Learners and beginners can "play" with parts and parameters and can get from the program answers to the question: "What happens if.....?". Thus, one immediately can see and evaluate the consequences of any circuit modification in the time as well as in the frequency domain.
 

dick_freebird

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
6,905
Helped
2,021
Reputation
4,046
Reaction score
1,860
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
55,303
The consequences of error are much less costly, in simulation.

Provided you don't believe them and proceed on to production.
 

Syncopator

Full Member level 6
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
368
Helped
70
Reputation
140
Reaction score
66
Trophy points
1,308
Location
N.E. Lincolnshire U.K.
Activity points
3,395
... Provided you don't believe them and proceed on to production.
Quite.
As far as you can, you check by simulation. Once you are satisfied with that you should build it physically. And then the fun can start.

I spent many hours in our development lab experimenting with the physical layout of an i.f. stage. Fine when simulated, but the simulator couldn't take stray capacity and inductance into account.
 

LvW

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
5,817
Helped
1,738
Reputation
3,478
Reaction score
1,337
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
39,028
......................
Fine when simulated, but the simulator couldn't take stray capacity and inductance into account.
I don't think you should blame the simulator. Of course, he/it is able to take parasitics into account.
But the simulator can do nothing else than to follow the inputs - created by human beings.
 

andre_teprom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
9,181
Helped
1,140
Reputation
2,299
Reaction score
1,116
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Brazil
Activity points
53,319
...it is able to take parasitics into account...
I agree to that point.

The main mission fo simulators is to test circuit behaviour, from schematic design.
However, the parasitic elements are obtained from layoyt design.
So, the mission for get those informations is up to some other program, prior to simulation itself.

+++
 

BradtheRad

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
13,632
Helped
2,698
Reputation
5,392
Reaction score
2,616
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Activity points
101,810
A simulator is just what's needed to get beginners fascinated with electronics.

A simulator can enhance our knowledge and enjoyment by showing us what's going on inside the wires. At least mine can.

I devised my own electronics simulator. Still in development.

It's not so elaborate as the widely used ones. Nevertheless mine has got the capacity to hold one's attention. For instance I've gained a greater appreciation for oscillators insofar as they are showpieces of someone's inventiveness.

Mine is unlike ordinary simulators in that you don't have to contrive a whole lot of text just to see a simple graph.

My simulator portrays current flow within wires. Capacitors charging and discharging. Dynamics of coil EMF and flux fields. All at several frames per second.

I put several videos on Youtube. Search on the username 'patientbrad'.
 

andre_teprom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
9,181
Helped
1,140
Reputation
2,299
Reaction score
1,116
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Brazil
Activity points
53,319
Some professional ASIC and PCB tools are able to extract parasitic elements from layout design and performs some kind of simulations.
However, I never investigated if there is possible to generate an output from that, in some spice-like model format.

+++
 

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,276
The top end design tools produce a back-extracted netlist which you can then re-simulate like the original circuit & see the difference.

Keith
 

Embedded_Geek

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
335
Helped
58
Reputation
116
Reaction score
56
Trophy points
1,318
Location
Germany
Activity points
2,917
So that you can avoid buying the components. Once simulation is successful you can buy the components and then make one.
 

erece

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
28
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,470
thanks everyone
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top