Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

why we need dummy resistors

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaylin

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,581
Hi guys,

Can anybody tell me why we need dummy resistors?

If I want to well-match R0 R1, and R0, R1 should be some matched to R3. Which way is better:
(a) dummy R3 R0 R1 dummy
(b) R3 dummy R0 R1 dummy


Regards
 

pph_cq

Newbie level 6
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
12
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,336
I will choose a.
It isn't necessary to put dummy between R3 and R0. R3 is the dummy for R0 and R1.
 

yorande

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 19, 2004
Messages
104
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
China
Activity points
905
Dummies are to provide similar operating enviroment for devices.
In the manufacture process, there are some variations of mask and echings.
Then the length or width u draw for a resistor or so may varies, even for the same one.
I guess it could be called of some kind of internal mismatch of devices.
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
30 years ago it was standard practice to put dummy resistors at the outside of resistor networks. These were there to produce the doping gas turbulence before it reached the real resistors.
 

vbhupendra

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 11, 2005
Messages
235
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
GOA, INDIA
Activity points
3,219
dummy are used to not to allow overetching and give sam environmental condition.
 

vijay.kumarreddy

Member level 4
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
78
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Bangalore,India
Activity points
2,017
Mainly dummies are placed to create same environment and to prtect the main resistor devices from the u nder and over etching processes in the manufacturing steps.The dummy should of the same width of the original devise and spacing also should be same as that of the internal strip spacing.

Example:

If u have res of W=3um and Number of strips =4 strips, spacing =0.3um.Then u need to place a single strip dummy resistor of 3 um width on the both sides .otherwise u can place a ring type dummy called etch guard(follow the same spacing and width). Dont forgot to connect it to ground in both the cases.
Better use first option as u specified.

regards
vijay
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top