Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Why programmers use command line interface?

bearbles2

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, I'm new to programming (started with C) and I searched this question on web and couldn't find any specific simple explanation (my english isn't the best).
I wonder why programmers use CLI (for which purposes)? Is it necessary to use CLI for being a good programmer? And why always LINUX? I never seen a programmer using windows cmd. I'm windows user so does it mean that i should change my os to linux to be a good programmer?

If i use linux command line does it mean that i do not need an IDE? Or both can be used together? I saw people using text editor rather than IDE and they use linux command line for compiling/debugging etc. Why they do that? What're the advantages?

Thank you everyone!

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

What is command line controlled?
Surely no (good) programmer would write it´s C source code via command line.

But to upload a HEX file to a microcontroller (as example) a command line "programmer" could be useful. It simply can be automated. Singley key pres or via hotkey from the IDE.

Klaus

emresel

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi;
For C like languages, it is normal I think, because there is not much option to develop graphical user interface when C like languages are common in past.