Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why and when to use 1X probe if 10X is superior?

Status
Not open for further replies.

doncarlosalbatros

Full Member level 2
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
143
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,758
Hello,

The probe compensation is possible only when the scope probe is set for 10X.
If so why or why to use 1X setting at all?
In what circumstances it is superior to 10X setting?
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,408
Helped
14,251
Reputation
28,763
Reaction score
12,940
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,133
The question seems to involve a wrong assumption. Missing compensation is no drawback of 1:1 probes. They simply don't require it.

The main purpose of passive 1:1 probes is low level + low bandwidth measurements where the lower probe bandwidth and higher input capacitance doesn't matter and you want to improve the signal-to-noise ratio. Read the specification of your probes.
 

doncarlosalbatros

Full Member level 2
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
143
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,758
The question seems to involve a wrong assumption. Missing compensation is no drawback of 1:1 probes. They simply don't require it.

The main purpose of passive 1:1 probes is low level + low bandwidth measurements where the lower probe bandwidth and higher input capacitance doesn't matter and you want to improve the signal-to-noise ratio. Read the specification of your probes.

Thanks I see that at low frequencies the compensation might not be required. But why signal to noise ratio is higher for 1X setting? Would a 1:10 resistive voltage divider introduce noise at 10X setting?
 

barry

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
5,135
Helped
1,115
Reputation
2,242
Reaction score
1,107
Trophy points
1,393
Location
California, USA
Activity points
28,117
You would also use a 1:1 input if you were connecting a 50-ohm signal.
 

doncarlosalbatros

Full Member level 2
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
143
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,758
Because you don't want to connect a 1Meg termination to a 50 ohm source.

Im bit confused since you wrote "You would also use a 1:1 input if you were connecting a 50-ohm signal."

And then you wrote " You don't want to connect a 1Meg termination to a 50 ohm source."

1:! means 1Meg termination(scope input impedance at 1X) isnt it?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top