Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

which linux Distro ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

aminRoy

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
1. which linux Distro is the best / suitable for HDL design ?

e.g. running Quartus ii n Model-sim

2. i am a totally beginner in linux env. could somebody please give me some LINK for comprehensive FEDORA / UBUNTU commands sites.

**broken link removed**

It should work on all distros. The Linux core is basically the same in all versions, it's the user interface that is different between all the Linux flavors. If it does require a spcific desktop, you can download it and install it in whatever distro you choose.

Brian.

That's not entirely true, the Linux kernel isn't the only thing relevant. There can be library incompatibilities across distro's, and that may prevent software from working (this is why compiled binaries are distro-specific).

For software that's in the distribution's repositories, this is not an issue. Large / complex, closed-source software like Quartus often brings its own version of libraries it needs. Not necessarily a good thing (for several reasons), but it does reduce the library incompatibility problem.

In practice: just pick a popular, well supported distribution, and chances are you'll be fine. If you want to maximize the chances of HDL software working, pick a distro that's most similar to the ones officially supported by the software you want to run (in the case of Quartus: CentOS or OpenSuSE). Debian, Fedora, Ubuntu etc. (and close derivatives) are usually fine too.