Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Which directory should EDA software install to on Solaris 9?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd2001

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Messages
236
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,912
Anyone know which directory my EDA stuff should installing to on SUN solaris 9?
 

geconom

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 12, 2002
Messages
179
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,464
How about /usr/local?
 

marsgod

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
68
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
405
I always install at /export/home/EDA,
for the partition(/export/home) has the biggest free space...
 

EcraZ

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2001
Messages
201
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,232
/usr/local when u want the software accesed on single system
/export/home when u want the software accesible by others on the network

other option is /opt/ but rarely used
 

bravobravo

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 16, 2001
Messages
122
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
USA
Activity points
973
Microcontrollers Design Section

I install all eda tools in another disk or partion
and mount it to the directory says /eda or /vlsi-tools or dir you like .
then you can use soft link : ln -s command to adjust the settings to
it not only flexsible and can have more hd space for future ..
serve your need ..hope it help ....
 

armer

Member level 5
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
84
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
576
EDA tool can be install where you want, You should setup the access code to it, so anyone can use it and cann't change it!
 

dd2001

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Messages
236
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,912
Hi, Armer

Please give me a sample: How to setup access code?

thanks
 

armer

Member level 5
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
84
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
576
which directi

Usually, we should directory that is large enough to install our eda tools, then create dir such as cadence, avanti, synopsys to install tools, then use
chmod to dir attribute to r-x, that is all.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top