Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] weird problem with shift registers

Status
Not open for further replies.

tinkerer73

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
OK, I have a ciruit that I'm working on using 74HC595 shift registers in series to run a bar graph. This is my first time with shift registers in my circuit, but I thought I had a good understanding of how to use them.

Since my circuit was not working how I expected, I broke it down to a smaller setup in order to troubleshoot.

I'm using a PIC16F1829 and 2 shift registers. Each output of the shift registers is going to an LED, then a resistor to ground. RC0 is going to SER, RC1 is going to SCK, RC2 is going to RCK. I have SCLR pulled high, and OE pulled low. I have a capacitor between VCC and GND on all 3 ICs. Data out on the first register goes to SER on the second, and SCK, RCK, OE, SCLR are tied together between both of them.