Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Want to run Linux in Window OS

Status
Not open for further replies.

eugenehhk

Member level 1
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
34
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,529
windowos

If I want to run Linux(red hat) in Window OS environment, what can I do?
 

tsinghua

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
222
Helped
23
Reputation
46
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,111
cadence vmware linux

Install VMware
 

man_arief

Member level 3
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
58
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,585
eugenehhk said:
If I want to run Linux(red hat) in Window OS environment, what can I do?
If you just want to learn about Linux or run some Linux programs, you can install Cygwin or MingGW. But if you want to test Linux, you must install VMWare or create a dual OS system in your PC.

But I recommend you to use Ubuntu for Linux Distro...;)
 

kishore2k4

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jun 17, 2006
Messages
296
Helped
44
Reputation
88
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
3,295
Use one of the Vmware appliances that are available for free download. Installing linux on Vmware is easy but the appliances are easier.

BTW, an vmware appliance is a prepackaged OS, choose the one you like

http://www.vmware.com/appliances/
 

kola

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
29
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,412
Very useful tools is CoLinux (Cooperative Linux) http://www.colinux.org
I test Cadence software in CoLinux under win2k. I think CoLinux is more fast then VmWare
 

rania_hassan

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
104
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Egypt
Activity points
1,764
HI, you can make unpartitioned space on your hard drive to setup the linux
you can make your machine dual boot or you VMware as said before
In case of simulation tools running like Mentor tools or Cadence tools VMware is not preferred as it needs large space from the Ram
best regards,
Rania
 

mlxsae

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
54
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
0
Other tool: Innotek Virtualbox ... however VMWare is the leading app
If you are MS minded, Virtual PC 2007 ??
 

sadid

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
112
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,053
and also you can use LiveCD.....
you don't need to install a linux distro just put the liveCD in your drive and enjoy linux.........................
 

Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
853
Helped
66
Reputation
132
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
0
Live CDs like knopix are a solution however tools installation on Linux will be not possible.
 

cloudliu

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
175
I think Vmware is your best choice, I have installed RHEL as4,Calibre,Hspice,IC5141,Soc42 in, all of the software work very well, and what's more I relly like it is that if you upgrade your hardware, you don't have to change anything. As my test, the performance of software running in Vmware is about 80% of running in real system.
 

tieuquaybk

Member level 4
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
75
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,824
VMware is a good choice. But you'd better install dual boot.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top