Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

VHDL or labview? which one is better

Status
Not open for further replies.

riddertoe

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello i am new with programming FPGA's. I have started learning VHDL and i have a few projects in mind. While i was studying on vhdl a friend of mine told mw there is a program called labview that converts codes directly to VHDL. So in this case is it unnecessary to learn VHDL? Can everything be done using labview, and can this programming method then i graduate and start working in the industry? I will be very happy if someone saves me from this confusion.

1. Limited support for constants

* Non-synthesisable math functions unavailiable to operate on constants (eg log2(x))

* Functions with constant only inputs are seen to have variable outputs to the LabVIEW error checker, eg indexing an array with the output of 1+1 will cause an unconstrained array error.

* SubVI controls cannot be defined as constants, thus for example, using a control to index an array will also cause an unconstrained array error.

VHDL includes several non-synthesizable functions in the ieee.math_real library (amongst others). Complex user functions can be written that are interpreted at compile time to generate constants such as LUT values.

E.G, the following can be used to find the number of bits required to represent a given unsigned number.

function bits(arg:NATURAL) return NATURAL is
begin

return INTEGER(ceil(log2(real(arg))));

end bits;

2. No parallel loops on FPGA target VIs