Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

VHDL - how do bit select on a signal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffw_00

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi - I'm a long-time Verilog coder coming up on VHDL. What I need to do in VHDL is

signal data : std_logic_vector (31 downto 0);
signal sel : std_logic_vector (4 downto 0);
signal res : std_logic;

process (data,sel)
begin

res <= data(sel);

end process;

But it doesn't like me using sel as a bit-select. What's the right way to do this?

Thanks!
/j

res <= data( conv_integer(sel) );

Hi - I'm a long-time Verilog coder coming up on VHDL. What I need to do in VHDL is

signal data : std_logic_vector (31 downto 0);
signal sel : std_logic_vector (4 downto 0);
signal res : std_logic;

process (data,sel)
begin

res <= data(sel);

end process;

But it doesn't like me using sel as a bit-select. What's the right way to do this?

- A couple of points: Type std_logic_vector has no numeric interpretation at all, it is simply a collection of bits.
- Selection of something from an array such as data(sel), requires that 'sel' be an integer.

The most straightforward approach is that sel be defined as an integer in the appropriate range. You could do it like this:
signal sel: integer range 0 to 31;
Or, since 'sel'l must always be in the same range as the number of bits in 'data', then a more well documented way of declaring sel that makes it abundantly clear to the reader what sel is would be:
signal sel: integer range data'range;