Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Verilog: Simple Pulse Generator/ Clock Divider

Status
Not open for further replies.

lendo1

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone, I am working on a simple program that creates an output Pulse every (input) N clock cycles. The logic is very simple, but I am new to Verilog and am having problems assigning my output (Pulse.) Any ideas? Thanks!

Code:
module pulse_atN(Clk, Reset, Pulse, N);	

parameter WIDTH = 10;

input		Clk, Reset;
	input [WIDTH-1:0] N;	
	reg [WIDTH-1:0] Nlast;	

reg [WIDTH-1:0] Count;	

output Pulse;

assign Pulse = (Count == N-1) && (N != 0); 

always @ (posedge Clk, posedge Reset)
	begin : PULSE_GENERATOR
		if(Reset)
			Count <= 0;
		else
			begin
		    	// nonblocking so check occurs with old Nlast
    			Nlast <= N;

if(Nlast != N)
		      		Count <= 0;
        		else if(Count == N-1)
          			begin
						Count <= 0;
						Pulse = 1;

end
			  	else
			  		begin
						Count <= Count + 1;
						Pulse = 0;

end
		  end
	end

endmodule

Last edited:

"Illegal Reference to net: Pulse" in my else if and else blocks. How do I correctly assign it??

Code Verilog - [expand]
module pulse_at_N  #(
  parameter pWIDTH = 10
) (
  input                     CLK,
  input                     RESET,
  input       [pWIDTH-1:0]  N,
  output reg  [pWIDTH-1:0]  PULSE
);

reg [pWIDTH-1:0]  count;

always @ (posedge CLK, posedge RESET) begin : PULSE_GENERATOR

// counter:
    // this could be made a down counter starting at N-1 so the compare becomes a reduction operation.
    // i.e. ~|count, which detects a 0 value.
    if ( RESET ) begin