Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

transistors arrangement for common centroid layout (cross-coupled pairs)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Junus2012

Advanced Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
dear friends

I am new in the layout design , it is the first time for me to start doing the layout. I attached you the picture of a current current mirror which I would first start with it, later on I will submit the other circuits and I really need your help and support

I am planning to have common centroid layout (cross-coupledpair). In the book of the " Art of analog design" he has gave the example of two mos transistors A and B. but in my circuit I attached I have six transistors (A,B,C,D,E,F) with the sizes you see and I dont know how to do the square array of this circuit and this what I want you to help

6743321200_1350754328.jpg

please keep in your mind that I can go more for higher transistors ratios but never less for the consideration of my main circuit. and also the length is fixed by the technology and I cannot alter it, so the only thing you can change is the width and the number of fingers

thank you very much and I will appreciate any participation of you

If you really want cross-coupling (requires extensive and expensive connectivity), here's my suggestion:

A B C C B A
D E F F E D

A B C
C A B
F D E
D E F

... depending on which aspect ratio you prefer.

All transistors with W=25 and f=6 (instead of m=6),
i.e. fingering instead of multiple transistors. This avoids too complex routing (it's still complicated enough!)

For the side dummies, use W=25 and f=1,