Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[General] Thermal printer interfacing with micro controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

akhilfrancis

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hai,
I am new to thermal printer. I am planing to interface fujitsu thermal printer with micro controller. In fujitsu data sheet i could not find anything more about code side. I dont know about the communication protocol between the printer and the micro controller.
For serial reading should i make any external circuit? please suggest me a reference design/sample code?

Thanks Advance
Akhil Francis

Hi,

You buy a printer.. and there is no informatin how to use it? Unbelievable.

What printer is it exactely?

Klaus

Guess you are asking about FTP-628 or a FTP-6x4 printer mechanism? There are technical reference manuals that describe the interface and expected signal characteristics. Several previous threads at Edaboard, see "Similar Threads" field below, or search yourself.

I'm not aware of ready-to-use reference designs. I believe, the controller can be designed from the scratch based on the reference document, but advanced knowledge of digital and analog electronics is required.

So it is a serial printer. I guess you can get away with a three wire setup. Is the baud rate, parity and byte size are marked on the printer?

You can try with an arduino. Be ready for some trial and error.

FTP-628USL401 , this is the printer which i am going to use. i am planing to bring the interfacing board also.