Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

The relationship between track and via size

Status
Not open for further replies.

neena

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
77
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
pluto
Activity points
1,762
hi

is there any relatioship with track vs via size
if i have a track width of 30 mils
what will be the via size that to used
is there any standards for vias


regards
.........
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,942
Helped
2,309
Reputation
4,620
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,435
pcb via size

The minimum via hole size used will have a significant effect on the cost of the board as it limits the number of PCBs that can be drilled as a stack. Not withstanding the radio performance implications of small diameter via holes, typical minimum sizes of 0.25 mm are commonly used. A reduced cost will be achieved if the minimum hole diameter of 0.5 mm can be used.
Quoted from: https://www.plextek.com/papers/gspcbdes.pdf

Regards,
IanP
 

    neena

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Davood Amerion

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 1, 2005
Messages
584
Helped
116
Reputation
232
Reaction score
24
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Persia
Activity points
6,345
minimum via size

I think 20-28mil is good.
but if the current pass trough it is high you must use more than one via for it.
 

    neena

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

neena

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
77
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
pluto
Activity points
1,762
via size current

hi
for a four layer board of thickness 2mm
wat will be the thickness of conductor dielectric and plane
can any one help me by giving more details about that
or is there any standards to be followed
 

binu G

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
501
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
3,780
standard via size

depending on the density of the board u can adjust the via size.
normally anular ring of 7 mil is must .

for a 30 mil track u can go for 21mil drill and 37mil pad.
 

    neena

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

nagaraj_hsmn

Newbie level 6
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
12
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,362
pcb via sizes

0.5mm width annular ring.
 

    neena

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

vijay.kumarreddy

Member level 4
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
78
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Bangalore,India
Activity points
2,017
recommended via sizes

Its a reliability issue,According to the current density u can place the via size.generally we used to take 3-4 times the min current density required..

vijay
 

    neena

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

touringmike

Member level 4
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
68
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
U.S.A.
Activity points
1,884
pcb minimum via size

neena said:
hi

is there any relatioship with track vs via size
if i have a track width of 30 mils
what will be the via size that to used
is there any standards for vias


regards
.........
Track width normally has nothing to do with via size. Aspect ratio of the board does in a normal drilled board set-up.
The accepted ratio is 6:1. So, for a .062" board, .010" would be the minimum drill size for a via.
Anything smaller would mean a premium fabrication charge, including Laser Vias which are usually smaller than .007 dia.
 

    neena

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

btbass

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
1,897
Helped
438
Reputation
880
Reaction score
287
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Oberon
Activity points
12,861
via sizes

In terms of current, rule of thumb, a via the same diameter as the track width can take 3 times the current of the track.
 

    neena

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

binu G

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
501
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
3,780
via size for 11 mil trace

vijay.kumarreddy said:
Its a reliability issue,According to the current density u can place the via size.generally we used to take 3-4 times the min current density required..

vijay

i wonder if in that case the via size will increase with respect to current !.
then iam sorry my friend. u can use multiple via for a better connectivity, named as seeding!
 

steph

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 6, 2003
Messages
5
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
50
via size versus current

Hi Neena

In my case, You do not need to know
the track for a line width.
But you have to know the current needed?

use via in trace calculator from

https://www.saturnpcb.com/Software.htm

Steph
 

    neena

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Rame

Full Member level 6
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
373
Helped
47
Reputation
94
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
BANGALORE
Activity points
3,810
via size pcb

Hi Folks,

It again depends on what frequency it is operating(Like rise and fall time,current rating etc..

Only with sufficient information one can able calculate the via

For 30 Mil trace,we can have 40 mil dia with 30 mil drill.I think this will solve your problem.


Regards

Rame
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top