Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

temperature sensor -PIC 16f877

Status
Not open for further replies.

delifadzli

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

First of all,I am newbie here. can u all give me an explanation regarding ADC things. The project is to develop an automatic fan based on temperature sensor. to interface PIC16f877 - conversion of ADC are really important matter to me (since i not quite good in programming). since the range of PIC is 0-5 v, i want make it in this way

if the sensor give 1v voltage = speed no 1 on (slow speed)
if the sensor give 2-3 vol = speed no 2 on ( medium speed)
if the sensor give 4-5 vol = speed no 3 on ( high speed)

the problem is to justify the input. How to make the PIC see it as digital input ( 1-5 only). I really confused in converting ac source ( temperature sensor) to PIC ( digital source).

Please everyone, can u help me??

sorry for my English

actually , i still doesn't know the actual temperature sensor need to be used (since in research session) . can u suggest one?? a lot of research have been made...but still, I'm clueless to choose

Hi,
For ease, a good choice would be LM35/LM335, but LM35/LM335 gives 10mV output per degree Celsius, ie, for 25'C you get 250mV, for 50'C, 500mV and so on up till 150'C down from -55'C. So, you won't get 2/3/4/5 v. So, change the algorithm. Instead of choosing range in voltage, choose in temperature, eg, if temp is between 20'C and 30'C, slow, between 31'C and 60'C medium, above 60'C to 150'C, quick.
Something like that.
Which language? I can help you if you use mikroBASIC.
Hope this helps.
Tahmid.