Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

synthesis for a design - what info do I need?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sonata

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
47
to start synthesis

Dear all. Could anyone please tell me what kind of informations of the design do we need when we want to start a synthesis for a design? Or to start writing a script for the synthesis?
Thank you very much! :roll:
 

Laplace

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
103
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
659
Are you designing FPGA or ASIC?
 

CatKing

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 5, 2001
Messages
157
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,129
script is not a good starting.
try do a tutorial with any soft you have.
 

jiang

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
111
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
Taiwan
Activity points
855
GUI tools is recommanded.
synthesis script is not easy for a newbie.
 

always@smart

Full Member level 4
Joined
Feb 8, 2002
Messages
195
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
ASIA
Activity points
2,027
Re: to start synthesis

asimosc said:
Dear all. Could anyone please tell me what kind of informations of the design do we need when we want to start a synthesis for a design? Or to start writing a script for the synthesis?
Thank you very much! :roll:
-------------------------------------------------------------

There is a good book teaching you how to synthesis the RTL code using DC and PT and had been uploaded in the following link,hope it helps you.

http://www.elektroda.pl/eboard/viewtopic.php?p=127004

Best Regards :oops:
 

sonata

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
47
I am going to design for Asic.
I learn GUI now and try to start with writing my own script to get the timing report.
I need to know based on what informations i can constraint the path in the design
 

jiang

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
111
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
Taiwan
Activity points
855
If you use synopsys, the easy way is that
you see 'command.log' after running design analyzer.
command.log records all commands you commanded in design compiler.
 

ljkong

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jul 18, 2002
Messages
123
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
P.R.C
Activity points
763
yeah.
many software have a log file to log the commands you have used.
maybe the name is different. but all is .log.
good luck
 

linuxluo

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
331
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,514
Hi, asimosc
I think the best way to master the tools is just to try it. And see manual .And the book mention above is OK, but just version is old and not include tcl scripts. It's a pity.
 

ttspice

Member level 3
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
64
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Republic of Taiwan
Activity points
555
Use TCL for DC....

All mature companies use scripts to automate and standarize their
flow. Most senior asic engineers hve some script templates
in their disks. Just ask your colleagues, you will find it's preety easy.
Some web sites also have TCL scripts for downloading, try it....
 

fivaro1

Member level 2
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
48
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
357
Perhaps the fastest and easy start is using GUIs.
But scripts are much more powerfull and easy to learn. TCL is almost an standard for these kind of tools. You can find a lot of tutorials, reference programs and lots of docs at:

dev.scriptics.c0m
http://mini.net/cgi-bin/wikit/

Regards
 

debussy1765

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Oct 16, 2003
Messages
20
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
119
to start synthesis

1. library
2. tool which you want to use
3. language interface (tcl, vendor-language)
4. write script
 

AndyJing

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
28
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
661
Re: to start synthesis

i want to know how many engineer use tcl script or dc shell script ?
i like tcl,tcl is popular in eda domain.
 

gaonkc

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 16, 2004
Messages
104
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
635
to start synthesis

Now many company use tcl script.
TCL is a useful for ic design
 

robin_su

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
22
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
176
Re: to start synthesis

I think tcl is more popular than dcsh!
 

francide

Newbie level 1
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
10
Re: to start synthesis

1) clocks : root, frequency, paths (excluded FF, preserved trees etc.)
2) exceptions (false paths, multicycles)
3) boundary conditions (load, input transitions)
 

allanweee

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
98
to start synthesis

i also suggest learning the TCL mode.
 

tom123

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
116
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,338
Re: to start synthesis

you should determine following factors:

1) how many clocks in the design;

2) operating frequency requirement;

3) what is the foundry and process;


sonata said:
Dear all. Could anyone please tell me what kind of informations of the design do we need when we want to start a synthesis for a design? Or to start writing a script for the synthesis?
Thank you very much! :roll:
 

realtek

Member level 5
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
89
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
874
to start synthesis

try use DV(design vision),
1.set library path( wireload, ...)
2.open design_vision
3.read file
4. select clock (for constrain)
5. constrain
6. compile

the detail you can read SOLD!
(design_vision tutorial)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top