Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Surface Finish on Microwave PCBs

Status
Not open for further replies.

youngguns21

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a designer having a discussion with a coworker who's background is PCB manufacturing.
On our PCB fab drawings we call out IPC-6018 with an ENIG finish and I questioned him on why we aren't using electrodeposited Ni/Gold.

He replied that we only use SMT chips (no wire-bonding) and the thicker gold would cause Gold Embrittlement. He also stated that the under-cut from the etch on electrolytic Ni/Gold is not as well controlled which will cause the filters I pattern to have a larger tolerance than what I design them for.

Should I be pressing harder for Ni/Au over ENIG? My current board is operating around 5.5G.

If you're a microwave guy/lady, please chime in. Thanks

I'm a designer having a discussion with a coworker who's background is PCB manufacturing.
On our PCB fab drawings we call out IPC-6018 with an ENIG finish and I questioned him on why we aren't using electrodeposited Ni/Gold.

He replied that we only use SMT chips (no wire-bonding) and the thicker gold would cause Gold Embrittlement. He also stated that the under-cut from the etch on electrolytic Ni/Gold is not as well controlled which will cause the filters I pattern to have a larger tolerance than what I design them for.

Should I be pressing harder for Ni/Au over ENIG? My current board is operating around 5.5G.

If you're a microwave guy/lady, please chime in. Thanks