Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Design of Microwave reactor

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Good evening,

I would like to clarify that this is not exactly within my field of expertise. I am a chemical engineer, and my doctoral project involves the development of a catalytic reactor heated using microwaves.

According to my initial idea, the reactor's shape could be as shown in the attached file. The operating frequency is 2.45 GHz, and currently, the microwaves are supplied by a solid-state generator. The connection between the generator and resonator is established through a 7/16 DIN coaxial cable.

The first transition zone, as well as the diameter of the reactor (vertical cylinder), has a diameter of 0.7*lambda (8.8 cm). The connection between the vertical and horizontal cylinders occurs at a height of lambda/3 from the upper end.

The catalytic bed will have dimensions of approximately h = 10 cm. The bed's position will be determined once a simulation (using COMSOL) is conducted, ensuring that the electromagnetic field inside is uniform. The simulation will then be replicated with the catalytic material.

So far, I have obtained a simulation where S11 is nearly zero, indicating that, if I'm not mistaken, almost all the power is reflected. My goal is to achieve the most uniform temperature possible within the catalytic bed.

I would like to ask if the shape and dimensions seem suitable and if you have any suggestions on how to proceed with the work. Additionally, I am interested in knowing if you are aware of any books or guides on the design of such equipment.

Thank you in advance.