Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

stepping down from 6.3V to 5V DC

Status
Not open for further replies.

priya123

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello

I am new to hardware and my ques may seem stupid. I apologise for that.
I wanted to step down 6.3V to 5V and I did that using a 1.75 Mohm resistor.
Although when I connect it to the module ( DRM -which requires 5v) the voltage drops to around 0.3V
Is it because the resistor is consuming too much power ?
Could you kindly help.

Thank you.

Hi,

1. Use a Voltage regulator to step down 6.3V to 5V. or
2. Place two Diodes in series to drop 1.4 Volt.

Remember that you are using a voltage divider, which consists of two series resistors, in order to obtain the 5 V. When you connect the module, you are effectively connecting its input resistance in parallel with the second resistance of your voltage divider. The parallel combination will effectively reduce the value of your second resistor. The majority of the 6.3 V will now sit across your first resistor, which is now larger than your parallel combination. This is why you are only seeing 0.3 V at the input of your module.

I would rather do the following: Connect a voltage buffer between your voltage divider and the input of the module. Or, as Prakashvenugopal said, rather use a voltage regulator.

The above solutions are superior to doing this, but if you wanted to use resistors you should make a voltage divider.

@ Priya