Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Solution for DC/DC converter to reach 15-20mV Ripple?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mr_76

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

i'm not an expert in electronics:shock:, what i need is a ±15Vdc with max 15-20mV ripple amplitude, are perhaps
already available PCB modules with filters on them suitable to mount DC DC converters and further reduce their output ripple?
I have found an XPPOWER DC DC IT4815S with 50mV Ripple max ...
how can i create filter on its output to reduce its ripple to 15mV pp ?:shock:

Thanks you all:-D

Imposing an additional filter LC will impose additional
series resistance and degrade load regulation. Maybe
this is tolerable, or not.

More shunt C from output to GND will further suppress
the ripple, but you want to have a good look at the
character of the ripple - baseband, or HF? - to pick
what type. And beware that the converter loop has
been compensated based on the present, plus perhaps
some range of added C and too much could be destabilizing
depending on the control loop design.

Offhand I'd say you might get to your goal by adding 2X
the present output filter C, of similar ESR/ESL, in shunt.

Or, you could get a +/- 16-18V setup with LDOs to clean
it up further. If your current requirement is modest at
least.

Thanks for your answer dick_freebird ,

my current requirements are ±100mA on ±15V... so do you mean i have to add 1 LDO with +15Vin and +15Vout and 1 LDO with -15Vin and -15Vout ?

With a total of 3 components i can realize so a very low ripple PSU ±15Vdc@±100mA?

Thanks again