Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Sigma-Delta modulator Simulation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd2001

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Messages
236
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,912
sigma delta modulator simulation

Where to start to simulate this funny circuits, how to put it into HSpice? Any suggestions? Please help!


Thanks.
 

Hishamsaleh

Full Member level 1
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
98
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
969
sigma delta modulator spice

i think i didn't get your msg... but if it is really as you write so what you should do is just: drow your schematic circuit as it is on HSpice and connect your components.. then satrt semulation...

what is important to know is that star or delta connection can not be present w/t being inside circuit... and all termenals are connected to some thing!!
 

asterix91

Member level 5
Joined
Sep 13, 2002
Messages
86
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
616
sigma delta wandler spice

You can also try Matlab if you are just interested in the simulation of the Delta Sigma Modulator, It is very good for simulation of Communication s Circiuts..
 

uil

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
160
delta modulation simulation

but for matlab ,the simulation is not the truth .you can simulate the system with matlab ,but block with hspice
 

goodboy_pl

Full Member level 5
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
253
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,119
sigma delta modulator site:edaboard.com

for complex systems like sigma-delta modulator, simulation starts with system level (block level) with ideal blocks like gain and switches, for finding some block specs like op amp gain. usually system level sim. is done in matlab/simulink; simulink is simpler but slower but matlab codes are much faster-speed is essential for parameter sweeping for optimum design.
after finding some block specs it is possible to use more accurate models like switch resistance, clock overlaps, opamp bandwidth and slew rate in the same environment i.e. matlab/simulink.

if system level is successful, with the block specs known, u can design each block (like opamp and comparators) seprately with spice and in transistor level, finally using this blocks u can simulate all of the modulator.

NOTE: Before full transistor level sim. usually a semi-transistor level simulation is necessary with some blocks(opamp and cmparator) in transistor level and others like switches and clocks in system level i.e. ideal switches and pulse voltage source as clocks; this simulation is done in spice.

BEST!
 

andy2000a

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
597
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,298
board level sigma delta

Have anyone use matlab simulation sigmal_delta , and use co_sim tool
simulation sigmaDelta A/D ( modulator + digital filter )
or RTL filter code
 

fatbrain

Newbie level 5
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
20
sigma delta modulation code

interesting

/ Warning #1 - No thanks or useless posts at elektroda! /
 

rntsay

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
73
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
484
matlab model for sigma delta

this is realy good matlab delta sigma sim code. it's not specifically for modulator, but should be good starting point...enjoy!

/ File deleted. Download link in next post /
 

eda4you

Full Member level 5
Joined
Sep 17, 2002
Messages
256
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,325
delta modulator excel

rntsay said:
this is realy good matlab delta sigma sim code. it's not specifically for modulator, but should be good starting point...enjoy!
you can legaly download it at:
hxxp://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/fileexchange/loadFile.do?objectId=19&objectType=FILE

x -> t
 

rfsystem

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
914
Helped
148
Reputation
292
Reaction score
38
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Germany
Activity points
9,550
sigma delta+smash

Consider also to use excel to simulate the time discrete behaviour of the SigmaDelta. The 2 dimensional presentation and that you can look at all internal states gives you very good feedback. Limit cycles, startup, all the ugly stuff of SigmaDelta could be seen there. Limitation is the 65k FFT in excel.
 

andy2000a

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
597
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,298
sigma delta full schematic, hspice code

as I know , many analog design use C for delta_sigma modulator
and someone use matlab(simulink) design delta_sigma recently..
but it is idea case condition ..
and I know a tool called "smash " dolphin provide a mix mode simulation
maybe sometime we can use mix mode tool simulation whole chip
because deltaSigma AD need
1. frontend --> deltaSigma modulator , comparator ...
2. backend --> digital filter like SinC filter or guass filter
+ IIR/FIR by verilog code
complete deltaSigma ADC need mix mode tool for whole chip design
 

uil

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
160
sigma delta modulator site:edaboard.com

in the matlab ,you should not use simlink ,but write the code yourself fot the speed .
you need get parameter of the capacitor
and amplifier
 

karim365

Member level 1
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
41
Helped
8
Reputation
18
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,425
sigma delta modulator matlab

dd2001 said:
Where to start to simulate this funny circuits, how to put it into HSpice? Any suggestions? Please help!


Thanks.
 

swethapr565

Newbie level 6
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
13
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,283
Location
India
Activity points
1,396
Re: delta sigma spice

hi can you please help me with the second order sigma delta modulators in hspice ... need to code it in hspice to simulate it in synopsis.. can u send me more schematics if u have please.... which u have tried or .. so.. please in need of it urgently..
thank you
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top