Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

S parameter model from manufacturer imported to ADS modified circuit performance

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am a newbie in the RF field. I apologize for any stupid questions in advance.
I am working on a project in ADS and since the simulations gave me satisfactory results using ideal lumped components, I decided to replace these ideal components with commercially available models. So, I went to vendors' and manufacturers' sites and downloaded S parameter models for the components of my choice. Below is the snippet of circuit
1687439009000.png

I am trying to bring in the S parameter model for C41 1nf capacitor. I found a suitable component here at farnell. I went to manufacturer's website and downloaded the S parameter model here.
I have two questions.
1) The zip file downloaded has only series connection S parameter and as shown above, my capacitor is in parallel configuration in circuit. I cannot find shunt S parameters in website. Is it okay if I use the available series S parameters ?
2) Is there a difference between series and shunt S parameters ? if yes, can someone explain or lead me to a source where I can know more ? If there are no differences, then why does some manufacturer like Murata provide us with both shunt and series S parameters as seen here?

1687439518006.png