Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] RS485 communications

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom2

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
318
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,457
I would need to use an RS-485 protocol to connect it with pc.My problem is that i confuse about how to do it?

I will need to RS485 module to sent data from one to other and the second to sent it via an rs232 module to pc?

IS this the case?
 

nandhu015

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
1,965
Helped
300
Reputation
600
Reaction score
224
Trophy points
1,353
Location
India
Activity points
9,857
I would need to use an RS-485 protocol

RS485 is not a protocol it is hardware layer.

You can use modbus protocol using RS485.

Search the net you will find lot of information.
 

Analog Ground

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 22, 2013
Messages
191
Helped
55
Reputation
110
Reaction score
55
Trophy points
28
Location
Vermont, USA
Activity points
1,345
I would need to use an RS-485 protocol to connect it with pc.My problem is that i confuse about how to do it?

I will need to RS485 module to sent data from one to other and the second to sent it via an rs232 module to pc?

IS this the case?

First, make sure your PC has a serial port (this will be RS-232). Modern PCs no longer have them. If it does have a serial port, then you will need an RS-485 to RS-232 converter (RS-485<->RS-232). If it does not, then you can use a USB to RS-485 converter (USB<->RS-485) and not need the conversion of RS-485 to RS-232. You can go USB<->RS-232<->RS-485 with two converters but there are direct USB<->RS-485 available. The comment in #2 is correct. All of this conversion stuff applies only to the low level signalling levels. The higher level communication protocols must match.
 

Tom2

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
318
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,457
To make it more clear,

I would use an RS-485 module (connected to microcontroller). The rs484 module is connected to wire (lets say 100m wire) on the other hand the wire is connected to another rs485 module which is connected to an rs232 module and finally the rs232 module is connected to the pc.

Is this ok?

microcontoller -->rs485 module --> 100m wire --> rs485 module -->rs232 module-->pc
 

Analog Ground

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 22, 2013
Messages
191
Helped
55
Reputation
110
Reaction score
55
Trophy points
28
Location
Vermont, USA
Activity points
1,345
To make it more clear,

I would use an RS-485 module (connected to microcontroller). The rs484 module is connected to wire (lets say 100m wire) on the other hand the wire is connected to another rs485 module which is connected to an rs232 module and finally the rs232 module is connected to the pc.

Is this ok?

microcontoller -->rs485 module --> 100m wire --> rs485 module -->rs232 module-->pc

Yes on the PC side but the same rs485 module will not work on the microcontroller side. You will need an rs485 IC or some other way to connect to the microcontroller.
 

Tom2

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
318
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,457
You mean something like the image bellow ??

6896697800_1392664848.png
 

jossion

Member level 3
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
60
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Location
India
Activity points
1,658
HI,

If RS485 module is nothing but a TTL/CMOS to RS485 convertor then the microcontroller side will be O.K. And for the PC side just put an RS485 to RS232 converter and connect it to the PC's RS232 port. Your job is done.
 

DraganM

Member level 3
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
60
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,628
485 IC must be use properly with 120ohm on both side and on one side Apin<-680 ohm ->+5V , Bpin <- 680ohm -> GND. Now 485 work stable! Advanced is if use 485 IC with embedded protection of bad termination + fault safe ... example SH65HVD3082
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top