Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Reusing power supply from a printer - please help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mvoltin

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I am fairly new to electronics and need an advice on reusing PSU from a printer (please excuse my terribly non-technical language below). I already spent 2 days it it is much easier to buy one but this has become a challenge. I took apart two large printers and have the same issue: 3.3v, 5v and 12V work fine but 24v does not output any current. It requires some kind of feedback or input with a lower voltage (just like ATX power supply) but cannot figure out how. Tried just about any kind of loop-back with "flowing" or "static" current to no avail.

At this point I am not trying to "fool" the PSU to output the 24V but rather trying to figure out the PCB and modify it (with desoldering parts or adding a few) so that the output happens without any kind of feedback (is there a relay that is controlling the output?). This would also allow not to have a 5v supply running on a side all the time. The first picture is the entire set-up when trying to hack it. The rest of the pictures are the closeups of the PSU's PCB. thank you in advance.

P.S. Will be happy to provide chip numbers on the PSU board if this helps

PS1.JPGPS2.JPGPS3.JPGPS4.JPGPS5.JPGPS6.JPGPS7.JPGPS8.JPGPS9.JPG

Last edited:

just tell me what you want to do with the power supply?

Hi Juni,