Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Regarding PSFB Evaluation Module

sabu31

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear All,

I am studying PCB of the PSFB evaluation board from TI.

One thing I want to know is the limit for gate trace length. Generally, we know that the gate trace should be short. But in this board its roughly 2 inches.

Also, the return path for the gate should connect to the ground plane a single point right instead of using a common ground plane. Is there any thing missing in my understanding.

The top switches are on the same heatsink and the bottom switches are on the same heat sink. Is there any particular benefit in this arrangement.

Attachments

• Gate Trace Lenght.jpg
    Gate Trace Lenght.jpg
    104.5 KB · Views: 64
  • EVALUATION BOARD DOC_Page_21.png
    EVALUATION BOARD DOC_Page_21.png
    43.9 KB · Views: 62
  • EVALUATION BOARD DOC_Page_07.png
    EVALUATION BOARD DOC_Page_07.png
    87.3 KB · Views: 59
Gate trace can be as long as you still get an acceptable gate waveform. No general rule for trace length. Gate input capacitance, gate resistor, driver output rise/fall time matters, also trace width and enclosed loop area.

Also, the return path for the gate should connect to the ground plane a single point right instead of using a common ground plane. Is there any thing missing in my understanding.