Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Re-wire digital soldering iron to re-work station

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello all. I'm new to forum and hope I'm in at least somewhat the correct post location.
I'm just starting to learn myself electronics so very very amateur but I can solder pretty good (many years of stain glass) and enjoy it.

I'm wanting to re-use an old soldering Iron (Aneng), the type with the little side readouts for temp and re-wire it into the plug which goes into my cheapy re-work station, the ubiquitos Lefavor 8586 (or <insert re-badge co. here> 8586).

The soldering iron has just (R/Blk) pos/neg plug wires coming in and the re-wire station has three (R/Blk/Y) as it has an analog rheostat knob.

My idea, if possible, was to bypass the irons on-board temp control buttons and use the stations dial to bring the temp up or down and here's the rub I DON'T want to do it if I can't also have the readout display give a numerical indication of the (voltage I guess) as if this isn't possible I'll just go grab a used "dumb" iron I can cut the end off. I'm not to miffed it I can't get it to start at 0 but I want the screen to reflect how much juice the iron is receiving...just for fun.