Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Question about capacitors and capacitor banks

Status
Not open for further replies.

tim.hall53

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am pretty new to electronics and want to make sure I don't do anything dumb.

Could someone please tell me what is the smallest capacitor or capacitor bank that could be fatal?

Thanks!

What harms our body is the electrical current (generated by a voltage source) that can pass in our biological tissues. I guess it is in the range of a few milli-ampers.

Time also plays an important role during which a current follows a path in the body and its limit depends on the path (like through heart for example) and the current amplitude.

I think AC and DC current have different limits while AC is sensed easier.

As you know current could be calculated:

For DC:
I = V_source / R_total

For AC:
I = V_source / Z_total

My friend (a technician) touches the mains hot line (220V, 50Hz) to feel if it is dead or not. Obviously before doing this, he checks that his shoes are well dry and his hand as well. I mean, as long R_total (or Z_total) of the current path including of the body is high enough, there is nothing to fear.

I am afraid you need to search for the current/time limits to get more professional advices.

Zc = 1 / ( 2 * pi * freq * C )
But there is also the possible inrush step current (this depends on the rest of the circuit and its state).

Hello,