Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Programmable down counter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pavithra89

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi
Im new to electronics and this forum as well. I have been given to design a programmable down counter using CPLD. I wrote the code in vhdl and i simulated using test bench. But what I really wanted to know what output should i check in oscilloscope and show it to my teacher. He asked to me show output frequency change when preset input value is changed :( Im not able to figure out what s he trying to say :} m exactly dumb to his questions.. Please help me asap :I :oops:

I presume you've got a counter that reloads itself every time it reaches zero, correct? If so, you should be able to look at your LOAD signal whose frequency will change depending on the load value.

thank you for ur reply :D yes u presumed right. but what is load signal in my code. This s my code :) please find time to help me in this

Code VHDL - [expand]
library IEEE;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_1164.ALL;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_ARITH.ALL;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_UNSIGNED.ALL;

entity enter1 is
    Port ( reset : in  STD_LOGIC;
           clock : in  STD_LOGIC;
           input : in  STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (7 downto 0);
           output : out  STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (7 downto 0);
           pulse : out  STD_LOGIC;
           clk_out : out  STD_LOGIC);
end enter1;

architecture Behavioral of enter1 is
signal pre_count:std_logic_vector(7 downto 0);
signal count:std_logic:='0';
signal div_clk:std_logic:='1';
begin
    process(clock,reset,input)
    begin
        if reset = '1' then