Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

power consumption question, pls help me !!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

negreponte

Member level 4
Joined
Sep 26, 2004
Messages
68
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
629
Hi all,

I have to simulate a circuit for specific inputs. I want to have some results for power consumption depending on input.
Matlab environment would help me to manipulate the data very easy.
Is it easy to create a power model for a specific circuit in MATLAB?
I have some experience in Synopsys tools for power measurements, but I do not know how could automate this process for different inputs. The basic problem is that I have to test this circuit for thousants of inputs and for every input to have the power results. So I believe that this process could be very easy if I made I model for a specific circuit in MATLAB.

I would like to have your usefull suggestions for that type simulation processes.

Many thanks
 

carv_13

Member level 2
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
53
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,612
spice file should help you easily. Since you indicate 1000s of patterns, the simulation time would be pretty high but you should be able to get the results using spice simulation.
 

    negreponte

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

onlymusic16

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
129
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,959
Yes, I agree with carv. Spice file should give you the clear picture. If you have some prior experience with hspice(from synopsys), you can easily use it to find the power for 100's of patterns for the same circuit.
 

iwpia50s

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
223
Helped
27
Reputation
54
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,305
If you're talking analog I agree with whats been said, if digital, then you should run your simulation and dump out a VCD file and read it into a power analysis tool.
 

rajesh9999

Member level 2
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
44
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,616
More details are needed to answer your question. If it is digital logic, first map it to a library + run a long simulation to dump a VCD file. The resulitng netlist plus VCD file is fed into synopsys to get power consumption numbers.

If it is a library component or cell (with only a few inputs and possibly one output) then spice is a good option. If you need thousands of runs, perl like or shellscript automation of testbench is warranted.
 

Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
853
Helped
66
Reputation
132
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
0
Hi all,
could you please rajesh9999 teach me this technique. I don't kow it.
Any doc/material is welcomed.
Thanks
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top