Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

pic16f877a with a wg12864a

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkissl

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have a pic16f877a micro controller and a wg12864a display. I have gone through data sheets and tutorials and many schematics trying to get it to work. I can’t get the screen to display the simple “hello world”. I know the code and how to program, but what I can’t seem to get to work is the screen. any help would be welcome. Thanks in advance!!

I am pretty sure it is C code; I am very new to programming, but I know the just of it. Here is a segment of the code:

#include "mxapi.h"
void main(void)
{
lcd_init(); //Initialize the LCD
lcd_instruction(CLEAR); //Clear the LCD
lcd_text("Hello World; hi !"); //Send text to the LCD
TRISB6 = OUTPUT; //Set up Port B0 as an output
TRISB5 = INPUT; //Set up Port B2 as an input
while(1==1) //Set up a while loop
{
if (RB5 == HIGH) //If the button is pressed
{
RB6 = HIGH; //Turn on the LED
delay_ms(1000);
}
else //If the button is not pressed
{
RB6 = LOW; //Turn off the LED
}
}
}

hi,

Sorry cannot help there - only do assembler - try searching '12864 in C ' in this forum and also the Electro Tech forum - sure you will find some examples around.

I am looking for a schematic and a code example, I can go from there. I have been searching Google and other forums for a few hours and trying different combinations of wiring. Any help would be much appreciated, thanks a bunch!

Hi,