Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Assembly language for PIC16F877A

mavis123

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a university student, currently I am taking the subject microprocessor and microcontroller systems. I have an assignment where we have to control the speed of the DC fan using microcontrollers. For this assignment Arduino is not allowed to use so we have to use assembly language but I am not familiar with the coding. There are three types of fan speed, one is if less than 25 degree Celsius the fan will stop, if the temperature is less than 28 degree Celsius the fan speed will be low, if the temperature is more than 28 degree Celsius the speed of the fan is high. I have to do coding between microcontroller PIC16F877A, L239D and a DC fan. Can anyone help me to code this, I have searched online for coding but all the coding is for Arduino.
circuit mic.jpeg

I'm guessing L239 is really an L293.

From the schematic it looks like you try to control the fan speed with PWM. It will work but depending on the fan you use, it may be difficult to set an exact speed, you should get some control though.
I would also warn you that the output of the LM35 is quite small so you would benefit from either amplifying it or using a lower ADC reference (an input to "VREF"). The resolution of the ADC if you use it as it is will be quite low.

Break the problem into small steps:
1. Forget the motor for now, concentrate on getting the temperature to the LCD.