Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] PIC16F84 + HD44780 4-bit Driver programming in C

Status
Not open for further replies.

T3STY

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everybody!
I'm new here and I hope we'll go on well :)

I've come here because I'm working on a project with a PIC 16F84 which I'd like to use to control a 2x16 chars LCD display (Hitachi HD44780 driver). I'm programming in C as I have already programmed in this language and I know most of it. But this is my first time in PIC programming and I need some help...
What I need to know for now it's how to proceed in initializing the display for 4-bit data transfer and how to write chars on the display.
On the PIC I'd like to use PORT_A pins to drive the LCD. I see that the LCD uses E (enable), RS (register select) and R/W (Read/Write) pins. Is there any way I can pre-set them to not waste pins on the PIC? I've been thinking I could set E=VDD and R/W=GND (always enabled and writing), so I could use RA1-RA4 as LCD data and RA0 as RS. I don't need to read from LCD so it's ok to not be able to read from.

For testing I have MPLAB with Hi-Tech C Compiler and Proteus ISIS for hardware simulation; both have been tested and are working fine.

I hope you can help me, and thanks :)

Hello everybody!
I'm new here and I hope we'll go on well :)