Status
Not open for further replies.

Mywk

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey all, new here so please no flaming just because I'm newbie in what concerns to electronics, I'm just a programmer trying to learn.

16V -> Diode -> 5V Voltage regulator -> Pic VDD
4Mhz Oscillator I found from spare parts correctly connected to port 16/15
Led + to Port B2

Here is the code I'm using:
Code:
#include <16F716.h>
#fuses XT,NOWDT, NOBROWNOUT
#use delay(clock=4000000)

#byte PORTB = 6 // PIC16F62X Data Sheet, Bank0

void main(void)
{
 set_tris_b(0);
 PORTB = 0;

while( 1 )
 {
  output_high(PIN_B2);
  delay_ms(200);
  output_low(PIN_B2);
  delay_ms(200);
 }
}

It sometimes did work when I had my finger above the Microcontroller (static?), but since i tried 3 different ones I don't think that is the problem.

I tried to use a PIC16F628 and it works without any problem, basically same ports/connections, here is the 628 code:
Code:
#include <16F628.h>
#FUSES NOWDT,NOPUT,NOBROWNOUT,NOMCLR,NOLVP,XT  //INTRC_IO (Not using internal clock)
#use delay(clock=4000000)

#byte PORTB = 6 // PIC16F62X Data Sheet, Bank0

void main(void)
{
 setup_comparator(NC_NC_NC_NC);
 setup_vref(FALSE);
 set_tris_b(0);
 PORTB = 0;

while( 1 )
 {
  output_high(PIN_B2);
  delay_ms(200);
  output_low(PIN_B2);
  delay_ms(200);
 }
}

What could be the problem? Maybe the configuration of the Fuses?

Thanks In Advance!

Along with the crystal, connected to the GND, two ceramic capacitors (of approximately 22 - 27 pF) will be required for this job. See details:

Attachments

• schematic.png
    9.6 KB · Views: 136

Along with the crystal, connected to the GND, two ceramic capacitors (of approximately 22 - 27 pF) will be required for this job. See details:

I completely forgot to say that I already have two 25pF capacitors correctly attached to the circuit, otherwise I think it would not even work with the PIC628 right?