Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PCB layout format...

Status
Not open for further replies.

tanzil_dhk

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
this is my first time to design a layout. I used ultiboard and after i generated gerber files followings were the formats

Top Layer .GBR
Bottom Layer .GBR
Top Soldermask .GBR
Bottom Soldermask .GBR
Top Silkscreen .GBR
Board Outline .GBR
Drill Copper Top- Copper Bottom .GBR
Copper Top- Copper Bottom .DRL

but i checked some company website and they are asking for following format
boardname.GTL Top Layer
boardname.GBL Bottom Layer
boardname.GTS Top Soldermask
boardname.GBS Bottom Soldermask
boardname.GTO Top Silkscreen
boardname.GBO Bottom Silkscreen
boardname.GKO Board Outline
boardname.XLN Drills

can you please explain me how to generate these formats using ultiboard ??

Thanks

You must examine what is properly the standards formats generated by ultiboard and which formats such manufacturer works with.
Thereby with that information, you can perform a reliable file conversion, and also allow research for some available tool for automated conversion.

+++

Its just a filename change, as long as you have a list defining what the files are called in relationship to the board structure the manufacturer should be able to work out what is happening.
I use gbr as an extension and a descriptive name, as shown in the top list. Using different extensions for layers is archaic and a pain in the butt, but there are no real defined standards, as long as data is referenced you'll get a board back.