Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PA stability question

Status
Not open for further replies.

triple_core

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
pa stability

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner in PA design. In the interstage matching, I use simple high pass to transfer the impedance. After tunning, I find the performance of my PA can be much better. But the output of the interstage matching is higher than the input. I think the output must smaller than the input so I made the stability simulation. I find if I put a serial resistor to the base of third stage HBT, the stability factor is larger than 1. But why the output is larger than the input?

In the following is the waveform of the output of second stage and input of the third stage. Does it oscillate or not? Thanks.

linc2 circuit design

First of all based on the pictures input voltage swing is about 8V and output is just about 3.6V. So there is no amplification, there is big insertion loss.

Secondly, you cannot measure amplitude with oscilloscope in order to evaluate matching performance because you do not know the impedance in the points of measurement.

Series resistor at the input will help with stabilization, but will increase the noise. Probably (depends on your application) it is better to use resistor at the amplifier output.

fast linc2

Thanks RF-OM.
The two pictures are in false sequence. The upper one(8V) is the output and lower one(3.6V) is input.
second the waveforms are simulated by ADS, not measurement. In ADS, the voltage swing of any wire can be obtained directly, the current swing can be obtained by insert a I_Probe.