Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

OPAMP Voltage Follower for ADC

Status
Not open for further replies.

SBTECH

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi ,

I am reading a temp sensor data between 0-10Volts with an ADC capable of reading 0-2.5V.

So I made a voltage divider and a voltage follower with lm 324 opamp which is sourced by 9V single supply. I am not experienced about analog circuits and i made this test circuit in the attachment .

When i connect no loads to the output i measure 0 volts , when i connect 120 ohm to the output through ground i measured 0.55 V on the output. I measure 2.25 volts between non inverting input and ground. but at the common point (output and inverting input point ) to the ground i dont measure the same voltage. It must be same according to theory of opams.

I tried to put 5 ohms and my opamp overheated itself , now no matter i connect anything to its inputs or outputs,when i just power it with 9V it overheats itself , i think its broken now.

So what should i do to make this voltage follower work . I always had so many problems with opamps , i wanna solve my problems with them this time.. Could you share ideas to make this voltage follower work ?

Many thanks ..

Screenshot_1.jpg

Last edited:

LM324 is specified to source >20 mA, so it should be able to drive 2.25V into 120 ohm, but surely not 5 ohm. It shouldn't be damaged by shorting a single output according to the datasheet. The reported behaviour isn't understandable from the datasheet. Either the device has been damaged or there are other unsaid circuit problems.

Reactions: SBTECH

SBTECH