Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

OP AMP - Offset Voltage Adjust not needed - what to do now?

Status
Not open for further replies.

arefeidi

Member level 4
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
69
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,848
Hi,

probably an easy question for the experts: I have a op amp (TL071) and don't need offset voltage adjustment.

What should I do with the two unused pins now? Connect them to ground, connect them with each other, or just leave them unconnected?

Stupid question, I know - but I've never muild up anything with an op before...
 

FANT

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Feb 27, 2002
Messages
415
Helped
52
Reputation
104
Reaction score
37
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Italy
Activity points
3,653
Re: OP AMP - Offset Voltage Adjust not needed - what to do n

Leave them unconnected You save space and traces.

Mandi
 

    arefeidi

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

nguyennam

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
440
Helped
43
Reputation
86
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,069
Re: OP AMP - Offset Voltage Adjust not needed - what to do n

Just let them unconnected and free.
 

the_edge

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Messages
181
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Belgrade, Serbia
Activity points
2,264
Re: OP AMP - Offset Voltage Adjust not needed - what to do n

You can even cut those pins, if you are shure that you will never use that OP again:)))
 

bas

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 24, 2006
Messages
29
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,428
Re: OP AMP - Offset Voltage Adjust not needed - what to do n

hey

offset voltage is not always eliminated
you can always leave the pins of your device not connected
the device will work properly
 

electronics_kumar

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
659
Helped
34
Reputation
68
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Tamilnadu
Activity points
5,552
Re: OP AMP - Offset Voltage Adjust not needed - what to do n

arefeidi said:
Hi,

probably an easy question for the experts: I have a op amp (TL071) and don't need offset voltage adjustment.

What should I do with the two unused pins now? Connect them to ground, connect them with each other, or just leave them unconnected?

Stupid question, I know - but I've never muild up anything with an op before...

check whether it is internally or externally compensated...then go ahead
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top