Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie: Help with a TTL connection chips

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dominus_Mors

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello to all. I am new to working with electronics and i am confused a little bit. I already have installed a 74LS175N chip (quad flip-flop with CLR/ CLK) and connected LEDS, switches, VCC and GND. It works perfectly. Now i have to connect the signal to enter a 74LS47N BCD Decoder and after this to a Seven-segment Display. If someone can tell me how to connect the signal from the 74LS175N to the BCD decoder, and if the Seven Segment needs VCC and GND. Any Help would be grateful.
Thanks in advance!

In order to determine the connection from the flip-flops to the decoder, we need to know what the counter is supposed to be doing. Is it counting from 0 to 9 to F, random order, or some preset pattern?

As for the Decoder to 7-segment interface, check out these sites (Google is your friend... searched "bcd decoder to 7 segment" ;-)).
Interfacing to 7-Segment Displays
**broken link removed**

In general, 7-segment displays just just a bunch of LEDs. The decoder supplies the positive voltage and the other ends of all the LEDs are tied together at "Common Cathode". In diodes, including LEDs, the high voltage pin is the anode, and the low voltage pin is the cathode, thus "the common cathode pin".