Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need RF sinusoidal signal with DC component

Status
Not open for further replies.

STOIKOV

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
236
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,083
for testing purposes, I need an RF signal mounted in a DC component in order to apply it at the input of an amplifier.
Is it possible to connect in series the RF generator (about 900MHz) with a DC power supply (2.5V) to obtain the desired wave form ? no matter what the frequency is or a impedances coupling issues ?
RF generators can provide 2.5V as offset ?
 

rfmw

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 10, 2001
Messages
545
Helped
93
Reputation
190
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
3,978
"Is it possible to connect in series the RF generator (about 900MHz) with a DC power supply (2.5V) to obtain the desired wave form ?"

I hope that you meant it differently from what you've written...


If you only have an AC-coupled signal generator, you need a bias-tee to superimpose the RF signal on the DC signal. For 900MHz you can easy make a bias-tee, since there are many chokes appropriate for this frequency range, or you can even use just a resistor instead of choke.
 

    STOIKOV

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

STOIKOV

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
236
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,083
Thanks for your reply.
How is a bias-tee, chokes, or resistor implemented for this purpose ?
The circuit I'm working on is an integrated mixer, so in simulation I set a sinusoidal source with DC component

VIN 1 0 SIN (2.5 0.05 900MEG)

where 2.5 is a DC value and 0.05 is the amplitude; amd want to implement this wave form in laboratory.
(see picture of input signals in amplifiers)
 

rfmw

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 10, 2001
Messages
545
Helped
93
Reputation
190
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
3,978
Look at these commercial bias-tees:

https://www.minicircuits.com/dg03-222.pdf

and bellow is a photo of a wideband home-made bias-tee (500kHz - 3GHz). Sorry about the bad photo, but there is a FR-4 PCB with 50 Ohm microstrip line with 100pF||100nF in series and 3u3 choke with another choke (with parallel resistor) in series. Note the flexible coax cables soldered to the bottom groundplane of the microstrip with the help of soldered brass pieces...
 

    STOIKOV

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

STOIKOV

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
236
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,083
Thanks, I saw the Bias-Tees file and understood an AC and DC signal can be combined.
Do you know if these Bias-Tees can be used with microprobes for on-wafer measurements ??
 

rfmw

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 10, 2001
Messages
545
Helped
93
Reputation
190
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
3,978
I don't see why not. Perhaps others, more experienced with that kind of measurement setups, would explain the reasons not doing so. What comes to mind is that bias-tee affects the S11 and S21, so this should be taken into account with the measured results...
 

    STOIKOV

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top