Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need Help Understanding Thevenin's Theorem Example

Status
Not open for further replies.

guerillary

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I just started learning electronics and am completely stumped by a circuit analysis example using Thevenin's Theorem on page 77 of "Practical Electronics for Inventors", Third Edition.

In the attached book excerpt, the circuit diagram looks to me as if resistors R1 and R2 are in series, however the description of proper analysis (highlighted) says the resistors are in parallel.

Am hoping someone here can please help me understand why the resistors are in parallel as opposed to in series.

THANKS!

TheveninLessonQuestion.jpg

Quite simple: check the picture text (Replace source with short, ...) and/or read the text in front of your highlighted text thoroughly: ... replacing the dc source (VBAT) with a short ...

Thanks for the quick reply yet I'm such a beginner that your answer is still hard for me to understand. Even after replacing the source with a short, resistors R1 & R2 still look like they are in series with each other to me.

Might there be an even more basic / diluted / novice way to explain the answer to me?

Sorry for any inconvenience, I appreciate your help.

If the battery is shorted then one end of each resistor connects to each other and the short connects their other ends together. Then they are in parallel.
A battery usually has a VERY low resistance like a short anyway so the resistors are in parallel for AC signals.