Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help in BSc topic selection [image processing: FPGA + Simulink].

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave_PL

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

Im a student of Electronics and I need to do a project (deadline: January/February 2k11) for my BSc degree.

My topic is: "FPGA image processing design cosimulation with Simulink interface: Design and the hardware implementation of an example context image processing algorithm in the FPGA device with the complete testbench coverage with Simulink - AHDL interface." (To be more precise it could be also video processing).

It should be some sort of entertaining/amusing project because it will be shown for younger age group as a help/tutorial/whatever :smile:

I was thinking about:
- road lane detection
- video anti-shake/stabilizer
- face recognition

The last one is I think totally awesome, but what I've heard it could be a really difficult to design and implement to HW ?

Would you please tell me which project is better or if you have any other ideas I would appreciate.

Thanks in advance,
Dave

Im sure they are all just as hard as each other, they all require some form of algorithms that you model in simulink.

My first point though would be to question the use of AHDL. That is a dead language, and has no way to interface with simulink. Please tell your tutor AHDL has been dead for many years.

With VHDL or Verilog, you can actually co-simulate the code directly with simulink!

What is the meaning of "cosimulation"??