Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[moved] Partly wet circuit board.

Status
Not open for further replies.

JustinN

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a complete newb in the area although I have saved a number of people's iPhone logic boards after being submerged in saltwater a few times.

I have a deer feeder we use in the our property to feed the local deer. I went to refeed and do regular maintenance and I noticed the weather protection piece was filled with water (no telling how long). To my suprise the battery connections were a lil bad but after a little tweaking it worked fine. All the buttons worked and i was able to reprogram the timers. I walked out a week later and noticed the timer had gone off. It showed the time on the lcd, but the program button wouldnt work while the + and _ as well as the test button would work. I assume the water level didnt go higher than the program button.

I took it apart and found corrosion on the back of test button. I attempted to clean it with isopropyl along with a toothbrush and I had no results. While being disconnected from the battery the lcd still showerd power but i assume the capacitor just kept holding the charge. I removed the circuit board from the panel order to see if there was corrision on the front. I had to remove the brown board (pins connected to lcd) in order to get a screw out and pull it from the panel. Once i did this the lcd shut off. I cleaned the corosion, placed it back together and i can not get anything to show on the LCD. Much less get the buttons to work like the test feature.

Any Ideas?

Any help would be appreciated.