Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microcontroller based access control

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuntu

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
I am a newbie to microcontrollers and i want to build a microcontroller based access control for place like stadium, first of all i want to have a storage for all ticket information for specific matchday, then i prefered to use barcode ticket. So at the entrance gate there will be barcode reader so visitor has to scan ticket, then microcontroller has to check if its valid or it has already been used, if valid ticket the microcontroller has to open gate for visitor,
please i really need help on how to do this, do i need computer for stotage of database for tickets or? if yes how can i access it? how do i interconnect all these to get them working together?
Please kindly need your help.

This is a big project if you new to microcrontrollers, start off with somethig simple like flash LED'S write to LC and say hello world, There are plenty of sites to get info from is my advise
you have to consider what langauge you want to write it in, what typr of micro etc etc,,,,,,,

Hi,

Agree with Wizpic 100%, though to me your project really sounds more like it needs PC based system with plenty of HDD space and speed , perhaps using micros at the points of entry for ticket validation /entry.

Don't want to be discouraging, but think it would be a challenge to a professional programmer, never mind a newbie ....