Not open for further replies.

matte87

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everybody,

I'm trying to measure the mutual inductance between two inductors using a Network Analyzer. To do that, I follow the two-ports calibration procedure and than I measure the S and Z parameters. Considering the generic circuit of two coupled coils, I would expect that the mutual inductance value is "hidden" in the Z12 / Z21 parameter and that it can be found by using the formula:

M = Z12 / ( 2 pi freq)

, since in theory Z12 is purely imaginary. What I found is a real part which is almost constant in a wide range of frequency (≈500 Ω) and an imaginat part which increases as expected.

Can I neglect the Z12(Real) and use the formula to get the M parameter?

Thak you very much!

Matte

essentially M=imag(Z12)/angular freq . So the answer is yes.

Hello, could you please explain why M = Z12 / ( 2 pi freq) ? I am a novice in EMC. Please explain it detaily. Thank you very much.

Hello, could you please explain why M = Z12 / ( 2 pi freq) ? I am a novice in EMC. Please explain it detaily. Thank you very much.

Hi Laren,

the relationship comes from the definition of the impedance matrix Z of a circuit consisting in two coupled inductors. Since this is a 2-port system, you will have a 2x2 matrix describing the system: (V_1 V_2) = [Z] * (I_1 I_2) . If you write the relation between voltages and currents of the two port system you will find something like (neglecting parasitic capacitance and considering resistance):

V_1 = (R1 + jwL1)I_1 + jwM* I_2
V_2 = (R2 + jwL2)I_2 + jwM* I_1

Where R1 and R2 are the parasitic resistances of the two inductors, L* the auto inductance and w=2pif. Re-write this relation in "Matrix-mode" and you discover that Z12 = jwM and obviously M = Z12/2pifreq.

Note that Z12 = Z21 since mutual inductance between the inductors is the same.

Bests

Reactions: laren

laren

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Thank you so much. matte