Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Magma TCL scripting problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

sabkumar.r

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I am just getting started with TCL scripting in Magma. I need to do the following basic tasks:
1) find the number of flipflops in the design
2) number of macros in the design
3) number of logic nets in the design

My magma talus version; 1.2.2e.1-linux26_x86_64

I understand that the basic idea is to loop around all cells and find whether they re flops are not. But which attribute of the cell tells me that??
any sample script/ tips will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dear sabkumar,

As you've said there can be many way to do that (by the way, I've used Blastfusion, but as far as I know many commands are similar):

1 - report model $m -file report_model.rpt
- It has a lot information on the design
- or you can use similar approach in item 2.

2 - As you said loop over all the cells like below:
data loop c "model_cell_leaf -cell_type macro" $m {
set ma [data only cell_model $c]
puts "$ma : $c"
}
You can play with the cell_type option.

By the way if you would like to know which relations exists, just run: "data relation". this will give you a lot of relations related to objects (e.g. cells, nets, ...)

3 - Again "report model" will have some information on logic nets.

I hope it helps,
Gökhan
---

Dear sabkumar,

As you've said there can be many way to do that (by the way, I've used Blastfusion, but as far as I know many commands are similar):

1 - report model $m -file report_model.rpt
- It has a lot information on the design